Constantin Stan
1 min readDec 26, 2019

--

I expanded the storage from 256 Gb original SSD to 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 on a MacBook Pro 2015 15.6" running macOS Catalina 10.15.2 following this guide + and a specific guide for the SSD model I used.

I used the following hardware for the switch:

Currently, everything works great with a 5 times increase in writes and almost 2 times increase on reads.

My main issue was the storage and that is 4 times increased. Actually, considering that I could use only half of the drive because of the macOS itself, the increase is greater.

I’m a bit concerned about the heat, the laptop itself seems a bit warmer on less stress than before.

I also would like to find out if there are some enclosures to recycle the old SSD. Transcend has one, though you can’t buy it without an SSD. Any ideas on that?

--

--