Dash O'Clock: Drawing Dash

Drawing Dash for the Flutter Clock Challenge

Constantin Stan
6 min readFeb 16, 2020
Dash O’Clock showing 10:10

Flutter announced the Flutter Clock Challenge on the 18th of November 2019. The deadline for submitting the entries for the contest was the 20th of January 2020.

I submitted my entry a few days before the deadline and on 25th of February 2020 - the judgment day it didn’t make it to the top.

There were plenty of gorgeous entries that I’ve seen and liked on Twitter so I didn’t have my hopes too high.

If you’re interested to find out more about the challenge you can do that here.

Why Dash?

My choice of clock face was done somewhere in December when I was researching interesting clock faces that I was capable of creating.

I stumbled upon the Eyeclock designed by Mike Mak:

Eyeclock by Mike Mak

This is quite nice, easy to implement and suitable for the landscape rectangular layout specification of the challenge. So I decided to go on with this concept.

Using Dash was a quite obvious choice considering its the mascot of Dart, the programming language that powers Flutter. Also…

--

--