16 Easy Steps to Get More Space on Your Mac

Constantin Stan
3 min readFeb 4, 2020

A step-by-step guide on how to increase its storage

I recently expanded the storage from a 256 Gb original SSD to 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 on a MacBook Pro 2015 15.6" running macOS Catalina 10.15.2 following this guide + and a specific guide for the SSD model I used.

I did it because I got tired of uninstalling large apps that I didn’t use often enough just to reinstall them when needed, constant notifications of low disk space, and scratch disks getting full when using the Adobe Creative Cloud apps (Photoshop, Illustrator, and AfterEffects).

This is not about getting more space on the SSD that is already inside your MacBook Pro (cleaning up the clutter). It is about replacing the drive altogether.

I’m documenting the process to help others that want or need to do the same.

Note that you are doing this at your own risk.

Let’s begin

I used the following hardware for the switch:

--

--